Baerenreiter Verlag Four Pieces For Double Bass And Piano - Hertl/Schafer - Book - Long & McQuade Music Educator Site
Proudly Canadian since 1956  Canadian Flag
  Main Menu

Baerenreiter Verlag Four Pieces for Double Bass and Piano - Hertl/Schafer - Book

Departments > Print > Orchestral Strings > Double Bass > Composer Collection > Baerenreiter Verlag > Four Pieces for Double Bass and Piano - Hertl/Schafer - Book
Add to Wish List
SKU: # 739902
Model: #



Composer: Frantisek Hertl
Editor: :Stefan Schafer
Format: Book
Instrumentation: Double Bass and Piano

  • New edition of a popular work from the double bass repertoire
  • Includes a revised double bass part by Stefan Schafer
  • Foreword (Cz/Eng/Ger) by Stefan Schafer

The renowned Czech double bass player, composer, conductor and teacher Frantisek Hertl (1906-1973) wrote many concert and teaching pieces for his instrument. An outstanding virtuoso, he had a consummate mastery of his instrument's expressive potential and sound qualities.

These four pieces for double bass comprising a Prelude, Burlesque, Nocturne and Tarantella were composed in 1968. They have remained very popular among double bass players to the present day while being extremely challenging to play. This edition adopts the musical text from the Supraphon edition of 1969. The double bass part and the Foreword have been revised by Stefan Schafer, the solo double bassist of the Hamburg Philharmonic State Orchestra.

Four Pieces for Double Bass and Piano:
  • I. Prelude
  • II. Burlesque
  • III. Nocturne
  • IV. Tarantella
There are currently no reviews for this product, be the first to write one!