G. Henle Verlag Works For Organ - Brahms/Bozarth - Organ - Book - Long & McQuade Music Educator Site
Proudly Canadian since 1956  Canadian Flag
  Main Menu

G. Henle Verlag Works for Organ - Brahms/Bozarth - Organ - Book

Departments > Print > Organ > Organ > G. Henle Verlag > Works for Organ - Brahms/Bozarth - Organ - Book
Add to Wish List
SKU: # 512393
Model: #



Composer: Johannes Brahms
Editor: George S. Bozarth
Format: Softcover
Instrumentation: Organ

Johannes Brahms's organ works in a sense "frame" his whole oeuvre. He wrote several preludes and fugues and the chorale prelude "O Traurigkeit, o Herzeleid" in the mid-1850s, at a time when he was making an intensive study of counterpoint. The Eleven Chorale Preludes op. 122, on the other hand, are Brahms's final work, composed in 1896, immediately before and after the death of Clara Schumann.

This revised Henle Urtext edition presents all of Brahms's organ works in a single volume, following the musical text of the New Brahms Complete Edition, and with a preface and a commentary that reflect the latest scholarship. The early versions of two of these pieces are also given in an appendix.

  • Fugue a flat minor WoO 8
  • Choral Prelude and Fugue on "O Traurigkeit, o Herzeleid" WoO 7
  • 11 Choral Preludes op. posth. 122
  • Prelude and Fugue a minor WoO 9
  • Prelude and Fugue g minor WoO 10
  • Appendix: Fugue a flat minor WoO 8 (first version)
  • Appendix: Choral Prelude WoO 7 (first version)
There are currently no reviews for this product, be the first to write one!