Oxford University Press The Oxford Book Of Ceremonial Music For Organ, Book 2 - Gower - Organ - Book - Long & McQuade Music Educator Site
Proudly Canadian since 1956  Canadian Flag
  Main Menu

Oxford University Press The Oxford Book of Ceremonial Music for Organ, Book 2 - Gower - Organ - Book

Departments > Print Music > Piano > Organ > Collection > Oxford University Press > The Oxford Book of Ceremonial Music for Organ, Book 2 - Gower - Organ - Book
Add to Wish List
SKU: # 723052
Model: #



Compiled: Robert Gower
Format: Book
Instrumentation: Organ

  • 25 ceremonial pieces for manuals and pedals, in a variety of musical forms, suitable for use at services throughout the church's year or as recital repertoire
  • Original music for the instrument, spanning the seventeenth century to the present day, including compositions by J. S. Bach, Gigout, Hurford, Francis Jackson, Jongen, Reger, and Whitlock, plus commissions from Gabriel Jackson and George McPhee
  • Arrangements of well-known works, including movements from Debussy's Suite bergamasque, Elgar's Spirit of England, Handel's Almira, Kodaly's Hry Jnos, and Ireland's Downland Suite, plus Sousa's Washington Post March
  • First publication of York Bowen's Wedding March alongside significant rediscoveries of organ repertoire by John Cook, Ernest Farrar, and Humphrey John Stewart

The second Oxford Book of Ceremonial Music for Organ is a practical collection of repertoire covering a wide range of uses, from formal public events to more private occasions. The music is stylistically varied, encompassing both flamboyant extravagance and restrained solemnity. Selected with players of intermediate to advanced ability in mind, the collection includes established favourites and attractive new arrangements of well-known works, alongside newly commissioned pieces.

  • J. S. Bach: Fugue on the Magnificat ('Meine Seele erhebt den Herrn')
  • Amy Beach: Scottish Legend from Two Piano Pieces, Op. 54
  • York Bowen: Wedding March
  • Eugene Bozza: Aria
  • John Cook: Fanfare (Psalm 81, vv. 1 3)
  • Claude Debussy: Clair de Lune from Suite bergamasque
  • Edward Elgar: Solemn Prelude from 'For the Fallen' from Spirit of England, Op. 80
  • E. B. Farrar: Elegy
  • Eugene Gigout: Toccata from 10 Pieces pour orgue
  • G. F. Handel: Two Dances: Chaconne and Sarabande from Almira, HWV 1
  • G. F. Handel: Overture from Saul, HWV 53
  • Peter Hurford: Paean
  • John Ireland: Elegy from A Downland Suite
  • Francis Jackson: Prelude on 'East Acklam'
  • Gabriel Jackson: Carillon for Louise and Nick
  • Joseph Jongen: Piece pour grand orgue
  • Zoltan Kodaly: Intermezzo from Hary Janos
  • George McPhee: Prelude on 'Bunessan'
  • Karl Piutti: Prelude on 'Nun danket alle Gott'
  • Max Reger: Fugue from Variations and Fugue on the 'English National Anthem'
  • Franz Schubert: Standchen (Serenade) from Schwanengesang, D. 957
  • A. N. Skryabin: Etude from Trois Pieces, Op. 2
  • John Philip Sousa: The Washington Post March
  • Humphrey John Stewart: Spanish Military March from the music-drama "Gold"
  • Percy Whitlock: March 'Rustic Cavalry' from the Wessex Suite
There are currently no reviews for this product, be the first to write one!