Mel Bay Airs For The Seasons By James Oswald (Arranged For Solo Mandolin) - Oswald/Goodin - Book - Long & McQuade Music Educator Site
Proudly Canadian since 1956  Canadian Flag
  Main Menu

Mel Bay Airs for the Seasons by James Oswald (Arranged for Solo Mandolin) - Oswald/Goodin - Book

Departments > Print > Mandolin > Mandolin > Mel Bay > Airs for the Seasons by James Oswald (Arranged for Solo Mandolin) - Oswald/Goodin - Book
Add to Wish List
SKU: # 701580
Model: #



Composer: James Oswald
Arranger: John Goodin
Format: Book
Instrumentation: Mandolin

Between 1755 and 1761 James Oswald composed and published two sets of 48 Airs for the Seasons, 96 pieces in all. Each air included from two to four separate movements in different time signatures and tempos, almost always in the same key. Each was printed on a single page with the melody on one staff and a bass line (with figures) on a second staff. Additionally, each piece was named after a plant and organized into groups of twelve for each season.

This book contains a selection of 24 Oswald airs, 6 for each season, in standard notation and arranged for solo mandolin. Originally intended for the flute or violin, in most cases the original key has been changed to better accommodate the modern mandolin. Oswalds Scottish heritage is evident in the number of movements that are actually slow airs, jigs, reels or menuets. Altogether, this is a delightful collection of 18th century melodies suitable for solo performance, teaching or private enjoyment.

Song List:
  • Spring
  • The Auricula
  • The Friers Cowl
  • The Lilac
  • The Pyracantha
  • The Rocket
  • The Junquill
  • Summer
  • The Corn Flag
  • The Batchelors Button
  • The Heliotrope
  • The Lark-Spur
  • The Oleander
  • The Sweet William
  • Autumn
  • The Amaranthus
  • The Ambrosia
  • The Candy-Tuft
  • The Jasmine
  • The Oriental Mallow
  • The Scabious
  • Winter
  • The Almond
  • The Arbutus
  • The Box
  • The Golden Rod
  • The Holly
  • The Phillyrea
There are currently no reviews for this product, be the first to write one!