G. Henle Verlag Septet In E-flat Major, Op. 65 - Saint-Saens/Jost - Septet (Trumpet, String Quintet And Piano) - Long & McQuade Music Educator Site
Proudly Canadian since 1956  Canadian Flag
  Main Menu

G. Henle Verlag Septet in E-flat Major, Op. 65 - Saint-Saens/Jost - Septet (Trumpet, String Quintet and Piano)

Add to Wish List
SKU: # 452752
Model: #



Composer: Camille Saint-Saens
Editor: Peter Jost
Format: Score and Parts
Instrumentation: Trumpet, Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Violoncello, Double Bass and Piano

The septet was composed in 1879/80, commissioned for the Parisian Chamber Music Society "La Trompette". Saint-Saens had, however, hesitated for several years to comply with the request by the founder, Emile Lemoine: "I could compose a concerto for you for 25 guitars, but for trumpet - impossible!" Not only is the instrumentation that Lemoine requested unusual - trumpet, string quintet and piano - but also its stylistic proximity to Baroque suites. The septet in four movements, which quickly became popular due to the catchy nature of the music, proved to be the forerunner of numerous works in a neo-baroque style and is now published for the first time in a critical edition.
There are currently no reviews for this product, be the first to write one!